Derek Gladwin, Postdoctoral Fellow in the Department of English was recently awarded the Killam Postdoctoral Fellow Research (PDF) Prize.  This is a significant award: each year, two outstanding postdoctoral fellows are selected as recipients of the Killam Postdoctoral Fellow Research Prize at UBC. The Killam PDF Prizes are awarded to full-time postdoctoral fellows in recognition of their outstanding research and scholarly contributions. Derek Gladwin talks about his research goals, his UBC experience, and what winning the Killam PDF Research Prize means to him in this interview.

Congratulations to doctoral student and TA Mentor, Brendan McCormack who was recently awarded the Killam Graduate Teaching Assistant Award! This award is presented each year to a small number of graduate students who have made outstanding contributions to teaching and learning at UBC. With over 2000 Teaching Assistants working at the university, this truly is a remarkable achievement.

See UBC’s Killam Teaching + Service Winners


To coincide with Canada’s 150th anniversary, the Second Edition of A Dictionary of Canadianisms on Historical Principles (DCHP-2) has just been released. Congratulations to Stefan Dollinger and Margery Fee, DCHP-2’s co-editors and everyone involved with the project!

In 1967, on the occasion of the Canadian Centennial, the first historical dictionary of Canadian English, the Dictionary of Canadianisms (DCHP-1), was published (see Fifty years later, and on the occasion of Canada’s 150th year, DCHP-2 is ready. The revised and updated new edition is the work of a team of UBC linguists of English over 11 years and explains, for 1239 meanings for the first time, why a given meaning is Canadian (in 1103 cases) and why not (in 136 cases). Words such as garburator, parkade and eh are explained in accessible language based on precise data, such as newly discovered and less-‐widely known Canadianisms, e.g. idiot string, take up a test etc. or to table (legislation) etc. In addition to the 10,974 entries taken over from DCHP-1, DCHP-2 offers information on some 12,000 Canadian words, meanings and expressions, past to present. The Dictionary is available online at

Also see:


Get ahead, get caught up, study something brilliant!

Here’s the list of courses offered by the Department of English this summer.

Term 1: May-June

ENGL 220 – English Literature: Medieval to 1700 (evening)
ENGL 224 – World Literature (afternoon)
ENGL 348 – Shakespeare and the Renaissance (afternoon)
ENGL 472 – American Literature: Bob Dylan (evening)

Term 2: July-August

ENGL 220 – English Literature: Medieval to 1700 (afternoon)
ENGL 406 – Prose Fiction: African Women Writers (afternoon)
ENGL 470 – Canadian Literature: Ghosts, Hauntings and Forgettings—Multiculturalism in the Contact Zone (evening)

Online Courses

ENGL 222 – Introduction to Canadian Literature
ENGL 301 – Technical and Business Writing
ENGL 321 – English Grammar and Usage (Language Theory)
ENGL 364 – 19th-Century: Monsters, Murders, and Secrets in Victorian Novels
ENGL 468 – Children’s Literature

For full course schedules, visit SSC; for course descriptions, click here.

 Summer is the perfect time to read and think about literature—see you in class!

  • We are currently working on our events schedule. Please check back with us soon!

See Brown-bag Series: Careers for a full list of events during the 2016-2017 academic year

Votes for Women

Residents of Green College are staging Elizabeth Robins’ popular pro-suffrage play VOTES FOR WOMEN (1907)–a play Robins wrote with significant input from Henry James!– from 16-18 March, directed by MA student HILARY BALL and featuring SSHRC English Postdoctoral Fellow, XINE YAO! Admission is by donation.

Green College Great Hall
16 – 18 March
8:00 – 10:00 p.m.