Fairclough Teaching Prize 2019

We are delighted to announce that Dr. Lorcan Fox is the 2019 winner of the Ian Fairclough Teaching Prize. This is Dr. Fox’s second award; his first was in 2008. His contribution to teaching in the department is truly remarkable. Students have praised him for his teaching and one student writes that he is “an exemplary professor [who] has approached this course in a light-hearted manner, with a focus on discovery rather than skill testing, which is ideal for an introductory course.”

The Ian Fairclough Teaching Prize is awarded annually to a sessional lecturer in the Department of English Language and Literatures. The Prize was established in 1996 as a memorial to Ian W. Fairclough (1951-1995), who obtained his BA (Hons.) and MA in the Department of English, and taught as a sessional lecturer for a number of years both in the Department of English and in the UBC Writing Centre.

See Recipients of the Fairclough Teaching Prize